Marketing Automation Agency – Does Your Business Need One?


  1. A short intro to Marketing Automation
  2. Does your business need a Marketing Automation Agency?
  3. What does a Marketing Automation Agency do?
  4. Conclusions + Request your free audit


1) A short intro to Marketing Automation




Marketing Automation is not just about automating emails.

A well thought out Marketing Automation strategy will give your business a big boost (not only in terms of lead acquisition and sales).


Marketing Automation will help you:


  • Improve your marketing funnel.
  • Maximise retention and customers LTV.
  • Boost awareness.
  • Save you time and money.
  • Coordinate marketing activities across multiple channels (Email, SMS, Push Notifications, Display Retargeting, Social Media Retargeting and more).
  • Improve the user experience.
  • Customise your comms based on the different stages of the user flow.
  • Boost your ROI.


There are many more benefits that come from using Marketing Automation for your business (in this other article I cover the details of 3 things Marketing Automation can help your business with).



2) Does your business need a Marketing Automation Agency?




Before answering this question, you should probably clarify with your team whether you need a Marketing Automation stack right now. If you are a super early stage startup, with close to no website traffic and no lead acquisition streams, my personal suggestion would be not to invest in Marketing Automation yet. Your main focus at this stage should be trying to figure out how to grow website traffic, awareness and user acquisition (find out more by checking out our Traction Testing service).


If however, you already have a “decent” stream of traffic and a working lead acquisition strategy, then it’s definitely time to work on the optimisation of your acquisition funnel. Marketing Automation can help you boost your conversion rates, improve your acquisition funnel and maximise your ROI. But how?


Let me help you visualise this with a simple example. Let’s assume these are metrics from your site:


  • Traffic: Your website has an average of 1000 visitors per week.
  • Marketing Lead Acquisition: You are acquiring 100 marketing leads per week (where a marketing lead, in this example, is a PDF download with more information on your services and/or products).
  • Qualified Lead Acquisition: You are also acquiring 10 qualified marketing leads per week (where a qualified marketing lead, in this example, is someone filling in the form to set up a meeting and hear more about what you can do for them).
  • Customer Acquisition: You are acquiring 5 new customers per week.


Purely based on our example, the acquisition funnel looks something like this:





Quick Funnel Analysis:


  • This funnel has a 10% conversion rate between the Website Traffic and Marketing Lead stages. Meaning that 100 out of 1000 website visitors become a marketing lead.
  • We then have a 10% conversion rate between the Marketing lead stage and the Qualified Marketing Lead Stage. Meaning that 10% of the visitors that download more info end up converting to submitting the contact form.
  • There is a 50% conversion rate between the Qualified Marketing Lead and someone becoming a customer (that’s a great conversion rate there!).
  • On the left side of the image you can see a big arrow going from top to bottom of the funnel showing a 0.5% conversion rate. This is the overall conversion rate of the acquisition funnel (website traffic to customer = 5/1000).


Whether this is a good acquisition funnel or not, this visualisation is helping us identify the stages of the user flow which might need Marketing Automation support. Retargeting, SMS, Email, Push Notifications are just some of the channels you could be using to improve the conversion rates between the funnel stages.


Do you already have in-house resources?


The next thing to consider is whether you already have an in-house growth marketing team which can work on strategy and implementation of a Marketing Automation stack for your business.


  • If your answer is “yes”: we strongly suggest you ask them to crack on with Marketing Automation strategy and start building a bespoke Marketing Automation stack covering the most important stages of the user journey.
  • If your answer is “no”: you should certainly consider talking to a Marketing Automation Agency or a Marketing Automation Specialist (freelancer). 


At The Growth Hustlers we’ve created LOADS of bespoke Marketing Automation stacks for our clients. Here’s a case study from a recent one.


3) What does a Marketing Automation Agency do?




Just like Homer Simpson would (would he???), a GOOD Marketing Automation agency will start off by auditing your acquisition funnel. This will enable them to identify key stages of the user flow. They will then move on to creating a bespoke marketing automation strategy based on your traffic and lead sources you currently have. The strategy side of things is very important because it helps them define a strong plan of action, identify opportunities for growth, project manage, allocate resources and much more. 


In short, the Marketing Automation agency will be responsible for the strategy and the implementation of the Marketing Automation stack. The implementation side of things would include tasks such as: creation of events, mapping out fields, integrating and configuring all platforms, creating multi channel nurture journeys, defining number of comms, delays, create lists and define list criteria and rules. There is much more to it but this should give you an idea.


  • If you don’t have a Marketing Automation stack yet, the Marketing Automation agency will be creating it from scratch.
  • If you already have a Marketing Automation stack, the Marketing Automation agency will identify opportunities and build upon the existing version of the stack.


A GOOD Marketing Automation agency will also be working very closely with your team, especially content writers, developers and designers. They will provide instructions for your team and work towards deploying the project within the set timeframe.


4) Conclusions + Request your free audit


I will keep things short…Marketing Automation is super important for so many reasons! (I guess I listed a few).


Hopefully this article has helped you understand whether your business needs a Marketing Automation agency at this stage in time.


To find out more about Marketing Automation and its power. Feel free to check out these other 2 articles:


  1. The Power Of Marketing Automation in 2021: How Can Marketing Automation Benefit Your Business?
  2. Marketing Automation and You: When Your Business Grows Itself


Do you need a marketing automation agency? Who better than us? Contact us HERE

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Giovanni Perri

About Giovanni Perri

Giovanni is the co-founder of The Growth Hustlers. His years of experience in marketing – and growth marketing in particular – have helped many businesses find and accelerate growth using his data-driven approach.

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The Growth Hustlers team are a team of highly skilled cross-disciplined technical marketing experts. I’ve worked with them on multiple projects at different businesses and they always bring a level of expertise and energy that ensure the impact is rapid and significant. Specifically the value they add with Data Strategy and Marketing Automation workflows has really empowered my team to be truly data driven.

Duncan McKenna,
Head Of Growth

The Growth Hustlers are highly skilled analytics consultants with a wide knowledge of applicable technologies and a determined attitude. They have been invaluable in helping our growth team access the data they need. After an accurate audit of our current analytics and the implementation of new views and goals the growth team can finally make decisions based on clean data enabling us to optimise paid acquisition campaigns and focus on the channels that are performing best.

Rob Imonikhe,

Giovanni & his team have been absolutely great. They started by setting up our web analytics stack. We now have full visibility of activation and acquisition events on Google Analytics. This has enabled us to make data driven decisions based on the performance of our digital marketing activities. They’ve also drafted a Marketing Automation Strategy which will play a key part in reducing drop offs in our acquisition flow. Finally, they have been working on Paid Acquisition Testing on LinkedIn and Adwords. Ambie is looking forward to carry on working with them in the following months.

Gideon Chain,
Founder & CEO

The team at Growth Hustlers were instrumental in developing the inploi data infrastructure and marketing automation engine. Marketplace liquidity and user engagement are critical to the success of any product seeking to efficiently match supply and demand. With the help of The Growth Hustlers we were able to develop a complex growth stack that has enabled us to rapidly scale our marketplace without having to increase the size of our team or compromise our user experience. Technical know-how and deliverables aside, they are a great bunch to work with!

Alexander Hanson-Smith,
Co-Founder & CPO

The Growth Hustlers are a great team of talented growth marketers. They helped us deploy a solid analytics framework which enabled us to easily distinguish marketing efforts between our App and our Website. Their team added great value across CRO and paid acquisition testing, thanks to very well structured experimentation roadmaps. We were also very impressed with their workshop skills. In short, the learnings acquired through their data focused experimentation helped us improve our App and Website flows.

Alexander Hanson-Smith,
Co-Founder & CPO

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